Uncategorized

November 2015

Let me set the scene for you: I’m composing this post in my favorite cold weather pajamas, with Catniss snuggled up on my lap, a warm blanket around us…and Nora trying to kill – or aggressively hug – the Christmas tree. Ah, the holiday season. Here’s a look back at November, when it all kicked off.

Celebrated: My 25th birthday!

Traveled: To southern Indiana on Thanksgiving, to spend the holiday with Nick’s family. It was nice to have another month at home; it will also make our trip to California at Christmas even sweeter.

Wrote: This blog post about breathing through your yoga practice for the studio blog.

Read: I Thought It Was Just Me, The Gods of Tango, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Rising Strong. I’m well on pace to meet or exceed last year’s 52 books.

Watched: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2. Nick and I have watched all the movies of this series together, and it was good to wrap it up on a weekday date night (Cinemark Mall St. Matthews has discount Tuedays.)

Ran: 118 miles, my highest monthly total this year, and without any injuries! Of these miles, 15.5 happened for my birthday run. Another 6.3 were at this year’s Turkey Trot.

Taught: Four yoga classes for my kiddos, three (or four?) classes at my gym, three in-studio classes, one Free Yoga Friday, and one class at Climb Nulu.

Facilitated: Another ice breaker for Connecting Things Louisville. This one was a huge success! Everyone chose one photo on their phone to share in small groups and we generated conversations and connections. It also fit well with the speaker, photographer Clay Cook.

Attended: Creative Mornings, on the topic of work. It was one of my favorites yet, and I posted some of my thoughts here.

Voted: For the second time in Kentucky. My polling place doesn’t hand out stickers, to my disappointment.

Enjoyed: This blog post about what you need to know about hands-on assisting in a yoga class, and this article about why writers like to run.

Drooled over: These almond recovery bars, and of course these apple cider doughnuts and these pumpkin muffins.

Purchased: This scarf (in black/white) to wear with a dress I already have to my brother-in-law’s upcoming wedding.

IMG_6695

3 thoughts on “November 2015

Leave a comment