Running

Birthday Run

While I’ve enjoyed taking time for leisurely long runs on my birthday for the past five years, it was last year that I started the precedent of the “birthday run.” If you don’t know this about me yet, I love placing significance on things. Hence, the “birthday run” was born. In essence, I run one kilometer for every year of my life. (At this point I’m not ready to tackle miles, but next year could be my first marathon for all I know right now.)

Garmin Forerunner 225, an early birthday present to myself
Garmin Forerunner 225, an early birthday present to myself

This year Nick wanted to run with me, so we chose to do it the weekend before my birthday. We had absolutely perfect weather – upper 40s and dry air. We got an early start at 6AM when it was still dark and quiet. We headed into downtown on Broadway and then back out along Main Street. We then got to Frankfort Avenue in Clifton, where the sun was up and my friend drove by shouting encouragement out the window. It was then time to swing back into our neck of the woods and through the park. We tackled the one big hill of this route at mile 14. From there it was a hop, skip, and jump home. Well, in a sense.

We took two quick fuel breaks 1/3 and 2/3 through the run. Splitting it up helped me physically stay fueled and mentally power through. We also made three water stops – thank goodness for public drinking fountains.

Victory!
Victory!

Once home, we didn’t have time to rest on our laurels because we had to dash off for a connector breakfast at our local lululemon. Once we were finished chatting (and purchasing these!) we went to Whole Foods to pick up the (vegan) pizzas we had pre-ordered the night before. They have a 2 for $22 that is silly not to take advantage of. The pizzas were bigger than we anticipated, too; we both thought we would completely devour our pies, but I didn’t even get halfway through mine. I’ll happily take home leftovers.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Pizza with tomatoes, bell peppers, spinach, mushrooms, and Daiya

The rest of the afternoon looked like me on the couch, finally showered, napping and catching up on blogs. I’ve got another coloring book party tonight filled with chili, wine, chit chat, and maybe even some coloring.

4 thoughts on “Birthday Run

  1. I hope you had a wonderful birthday! I really enjoy posts like this. 🙂 What a neat idea to do a “birthday run”! Those lulu crops are super cute too!

Leave a Reply

