Honduras

Surprise!

Surprise! Last Monday through Wednesday I traveled to Honduras for the fifth time. This trip was so different from my others, but very special in its own way.

IMG_9918

A couple months ago, a friend I have traveled to Honduras with several times let me know that a group of women (some I knew, some I hadn’t met yet) were planning a trip. They wanted to surprise the woman who receives us on behalf of Sociedad Amigos de los Niños for her 70th birthday. I knew right away that I wanted to be a part of this, and was fortunately able to work my schedule out so that I could travel for a few days.

The look on Mae’s face when we all filed out at the airport was priceless. She thought just one friend was coming, but to her surprise there were 10 of us! The next few days were filled with more surprises – a fancy birthday dinner with her family, a basket of 70 gifts – and more great memories. As this was more of a pleasure trip than a service trip, we were able to experience Tegucigalpa in a different way. I’ll post more about that later.

IMG_9923

Over the years, the most valuable things I’ve gained from my trips to Honduras have been friendships. No one who has met Mae is left untouched. She has such a compassionate and giving heart, and I am so glad we were able to give some love back to her.

Read more about my history with Honduras here.

Save

One thought on “Surprise!

Leave a Reply

