Uncategorized

September 2015

September was another month that flew quickly by. While I kept busy the whole month, it was in the middle that I felt a bit over-committed. I’ve intentionally tried to slow myself down a bit in the past couple weeks. It’s all been good, though. October is off to a good start with a four-day weekend for me. Here’s a look back at what happened in September:

Traveled: To Indiana. A lot. We were with Nick’s family for over Labor Day weekend in southern Indiana. A couple weekends later we were in Indy for the Women’s Half Marathon, and the very next weekend we were in Columbus for the Mill Race.

Read: In the Name of Salomé, Emma: A Modern Retelling, Help Thanks Wow, The Poisonwood Bible, Bird by Bird, Missoula

Ran: 102 miles, almost twice as much as last month. I was actually surprised to see that I was able to bounce back so quickly. A few of this month’s miles were part of the Indy Women’s Half Marathon, and 3.1 of them were at the Mill Race SIHO 5K. The back-to-back races don’t end there; we’re running a 10K the first Saturday in October.

Took a step back from: Teaching in the studio. There were some time commitments that weren’t going to fit into my life at the moment, and I decided to focus my energy on the kids’ outreach classes I teach. I’m still teaching as a sub fairly frequently in the studio, though.

Taught: Four kids’ outreach classes, one family outreach class, one in-studio class, three classes at my gym, two classes at Fleet Feet Louisville, and one afternoon at Churchill Downs Family Adventure Day. Phew!

Renewed: My certification with Yoga Alliance. September was the month of yoga…which is great, because it’s National Yoga Month.

Facilitated: An “ice breaker” at Connecting Things Louisville, with two of my fellow teachers from 502 Power Yoga. Afterward, we got to hear from chef Kristina Addington of V-GRITS about her experience opening a vegan food truck. We also got to taste her grits, biscuits and gravy, and samples from Kentucky Kombucha.

Attended: Nulu Festival in one of my favorite Louisville neighborhoods. Market Street was filled with local restaurants, shops and vendors.

Enjoyed: This article about the impact of family yoga, this guide to visiting Havana, and this advice that hit home on how to be happy when others succeed.

via VIA Studio
via VIA Studio. I’m in the blue tank & grey sweater getting the ice breaker going at Connecting Things.

One thought on “September 2015

Leave a comment