Local Love

Forecastle

Forecastle Festival. It went way beyond my expectations. I originally had a really long post typed up to recap this weekend, but instead let’s keep it simple(r).

Overall, my impression was that this festival is incredibly well organized. It is also very tidy and environmentally friendly, in keeping with what the Forecastle Foundation stands for. I really appreciated that they had free water stations to cut down on waste and keep people hydrated. There was a great variety of music, and a space for everyone, whether you wanted to be dancing up front or sitting on a blanket in the back. I had way too much fun this weekend to ever feel tired!

Friday

I was fortunate that I didn’t have to work on Friday, so I was able to get to the Waterfront just after the gates opened at 2PM. Because I got there early, I didn’t have to wait in line at all to receive my wristband. The sets I went to were:

  • 1200, who I had seen give a Creative Mornings talk and was excited to see.
  • Seratones, a Louisiana-based band; I think it was at this point that I knew it was going to be a really good weekend.
  • Liz Vice, smooth and chill.
  • Tourist, for which we got up close to the stage and were really in the thick of it. Unfortunately, before Tourist was finished everyone was asked to leave the festival because of impending storms. Although there only ended up being a few sprinkles and one lightning bolt, we waited just outside the gates for about an hour before being let back in.

IMG_9437

  • Grouplove, who I only discovered in the week leading up to the festival.
  • Baauer, the most fun I had all weekend.
  • Moon Taxi, one of the bands I was most looking forward to.

 

IMG_9489

  • Glass Animals, okay but not my favorite.
  • The Avett Brothers, the moment I had been waiting for since they announced the lineup. A dream come true. It was a perfect end to the first day at Forecastle.

Saturday

Despite getting home after midnight and getting up early for a morning meeting, I was itching to get back to the festival. Here’s what I saw on day two:

  • Shakey Graves, who played all my favorites.
  • Danny Brown, featuring my first mosh pit experience. I surfaced without any injuries, but covered in glitter.
  • The Arcs, which is Dan Auerbach’s other band besides The Black Keys.
  • Dr. Dog, another band I knew nothing about before this weekend but enjoyed.
  • Local Natives, for which we made sure to get a spot right up at the stage and it was amazing. No words.

IMG_9504

  • Big Gigantic from the back. I won’t lie, even though I was by myself, I couldn’t help but dance a ton! I split early from this to get a good spot for
  • Alabama Shakes, which gave me chills. Brittany Howard is incredible to watch preform. To add to the feels, before the set Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer took the state to pay tribute to Muhammad Ali and ask us all to join hands to show compassion in the midst of all the world’s violence. Day two couldn’t have ended any better.

IMG_9511

Sunday

This was a pretty short day for me, as I had to teach yoga in the evening. Even though I knew I wouldn’t be there long, I wanted make the most of it:

  • Anderson East, who I didn’t know but is going on my to-listen list
  • AlunaGeorge, who was a great performer, but wasn’t my favorite.

Unfortunately, after this I had to take off. I had thought about coming back to see Ryan Adams close, but once I found out I had to be at work at 6AM, I decided to scrap that and wait until next time he’s in town.

IMG_9492

Come back later this week for my festival packing list and tips!

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

