Uncategorized

June 2016

Oh hey, it’s been a hot minute since I’ve posted anything. (Aside, “hot minute” is a phrase I’ve picked up since moving to Louisville…I’m not sure it’s in the Midwestern vocabulary…it’s probably not hot enough in Chicago.) I’ve been intentionally not busy this summer and it’s been fantastic. Anyway, today I’m finally going to recap all things June for the What’s New With You? linkup.

Traveled: To suburban Chicago at the end of the month for a long 4th of July weekend with my family. Nick and I spent one day downtown Chicago, which I might write a recap of. The rest of the time was spent hanging out with family.

Read: WomanCode, The Lacuna, Eiger Dreams, The Past

Ran: 47 miles, just shy of May’s already low total. I’m still loving exercising intuitively, and I’m happy to have traded two hours long runs on weekends for day-long hikes and other adventures.

Hiked: A lot, with all the pleasant weather we had last month. Our biggest hike was our third annual Siltstone trip. We also did a little bit of hiking when we visited Mammoth Cave National Park.

Swam: in Deam Lake. Well, really I just walked because it was really crowded (we went on Father’s Day) but it felt so good to be in the water.

Taught: As many classes as I could. I’ve been enjoying teaching at Climb Nulu so much that I’m jumping at any opportunity to sub that I can!

Enjoyed: This advice on combining running and yoga, this perspective on why we should let children be bored in the summer, and this post about the benefit of shutting down ego.

Drooled over: These s’mores bars (because I love all things s’mores and all things Minimalist Baker), and this recipe for sangria you can sip on all summer long.

Purchased: A plane ticket to a surprise destination! I can’t say where (because it’s a surprise for someone) but stay tuned through mid-August!

A view of the skyscrapers from the Chicago River
A view of skyscrapers from the Chicago River

8bbce-k5

9 thoughts on “June 2016

  1. hahaha i totally picked up hot minute as well! i thought it was an american thing, but i definitely picked it up in Louisville as well. hilarious. how exciting about the surprise destination! and i am with you, i love minimalist baker. loved that running and yoga article, i really need to up my yoga game. i used to do it fairly consistently but it’s been way too long. thanks for linking up with us 🙂

  2. I’m jealous you had the chance to go back to Chi-Town! We moved away from there a little less than a year ago and I definitely miss the city in the summertime. Last time we visited we were in the ‘burbs and didn’t even drive into the city! — Lisa | Naptime Chai

  3. I’m off to Chicago in August so I’m keen to hear any tips you have for the city! I’ve only got 2 or so days there so it’ll be a bit of a whirlwind but I can’t wait to see the place 🙂

    1. I truly feel like you can’t go wrong! If the weather is nice, you could go to Lincoln Park and see the (free) zoo, and then walk back into downtown along the lake shore path. All the museums are wonderful. My favorite pizza is Lou Malnati’s! Let me know if you want any other specific recommendations 🙂

  4. Do you listen to Jess Lively’s podcast? I just noticed you linked a post about the ego, and she talks about that so much. Right now she’s traveling abroad and talks a lot about her internal battle and what that does to her choices. Really interesting! Thanks for linking up with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

