Uncategorized

Memorial Day Weekend

Here we are at the start to another week and it’s already Tuesday. Booyah! I hope you all had a relaxing and/or adventurous unofficial start to summer.

IMG_8653

Our weekend got off to an early start on Friday, as neither Nick nor I had to work. We took a friend climbing, did our weekly grocery shopping, and hit up Steel City Pops in the blazing heat. The coconut pop is my new favorite – so creamy and delicious, with toasted coconut as the metaphorical cherry on top (in this case, bottom.)

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Saturday, we met up with some friends for the first annual Bluegrass Veg Fest, an all-vegan festival, but by the time we got there, it was packed! The line for food from V-Grits was over an hour long, so we walked over to The Silver Dollar instead. I still got a veggie burger and sweet potato fries, so it was all good.

On Sunday we met a friend for some more climbing, did a short hike in Cherokee Park, and then hit the road for Nick’s family’s party. The summer holidays see us gathering for lots of food and drinks at his grandma’s lake house. It was good to catch up with family we hadn’t seen since the winter holidays. Nick and I also borrowed some kayaks for a quick spin around the lake before heading back to Louisville.

IMG_8647

Monday morning, I found a tick stuck to my stomach, just under my belly button. It really freaked me out that he had probably been on me since the night before. I was brave terrified as Nick pulled him out. So far no rash has appeared, and that was the only low point to the weekend. Even that couldn’t stop me from heading out for some more hiking on the gorgeous holiday.

IMG_8651

How did you kick off summer this weekend?

Leave a Reply

