Uncategorized

April 2016

This post was delayed because last week I had to get my logic board replaced after my computer refused to turn on. Luckily, there was no data loss and hopefully we’ll be right back on track. Here’s a look back at April…

Traveled: To my hometown in suburban Chicago. My mom and I both got laid up with the flu, so it was a low key week.

Read: Circling the Sun, Minimalist Baker’s Everyday Cooking, The Japanese Lover

Listened: To a few episodes of The Runner’s World Show, a podcast hosted by David Willey, editor-in-chief at Runner’s World magazine. It’s a great way to keep updated with gear reviews, training advice, news in the running world, and to hear stories from everyday runners and professional athletes alike.

Ran: 74 miles, 10 more than last month. 13.1 of those were at the Kentucky Derby Festival Mini Marathon. I feel like I’m slowly making a comeback.

Hiked: Casually with friends on a gorgeous Sunday afternoon at the Parklands. Now that spring-which-feels-more-like-summer has arrived, I’m holding on to my intention.

Taught: Less yoga classes than last month, which was a relief. Teaching yoga requires me to give a lot of my energy, but I need to hold on to some of it for myself! I’m currently loving my Thursday evening class at Climb Nulu.

Climbed: Several times this month, and I’m really beginning to enjoy it. This is definitely becoming a new hobby for me. I’m even planning to buy a pair of climbing shoes…that’s how you know it’s real.

Enjoyed: This honest story about sexism in the National Park Service, this one about why taking notes by hand is best (I always did this!), and these three work rules.

Drooled over: These ΓΌber thin almond butter cookies, these zoodles with spicy sesame almond butter sauce, and these peanut butter + coconut (pea) protein bites. Obviously I love nut butters!

One of my favorite parts of spring: the (soy) beekeeper latte at Heine Bros.
One of my favorite parts of spring: the (soy) beekeeper latte at Heine Bros.
Leave a Reply

