Uncategorized

Friday Five

1 Mother’s Day is just over a week away, and if you’re looking for a cute DIY gift, try these fortunes cookies filled with thoughtful messages. I won’t see either my mother or mother-in-law on Mother’s Day, but I hope they know how much I appreciate them!

2 Yesterday I hit up the Quest Outdoors moving sale (they’re moving to a larger building in the same Shelbyville Road Plaza.) I went in looking for day packs for Nick and I, but the stock was picked over just an hour after the start of the sale. It looked like a mini-Black Friday in there! I did, however, come away with a brand new pair of trail running shoes from Pearl Izumi.

3 I tried a jar of Barney Butter for the first time this week. Barney Butter produces almond butters in a peanut-free facility, which is great if you have a peanut allergy (thank goodness I don’t!) I chose Cocoa + Coconut and it is to die for. It’s a little pricey, so I waited until there was a sale on Vitacost to order.

4 “For a 79-year-old man who has taken a lifelong vow of celibacy, the pontiff has some pretty solid relationship tips.” Pope Francis’s advice touches on both the tenderness and hard work that make up relationships.

5 If you’re local, come out and see me at Derby De-stress on Monday. At 6PM Kentucky Yoga Initiative, of which I am a teacher and board member, will be leading a donation-based yoga class. I’ll be manning our booth and spreading the word about what we do. Admission requires a 2016 Pegasus Pin.

IMG_8198
Stretching in a variation of Lizard for open hips and quads

Friday Fitness: Tomorrow is the big day – the Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon and miniMarathon! The forecast is calling for rain, which is okay, we just don’t want lightning, which would cancel the event. (I’ve already been through that once and don’t want a repeat!)

Leave a Reply

