Recipes

Strawberry Mango Turmeric Popsicles

Today we’re making popsicles! These couldn’t be simpler, and are a convenient snack as the weather heats up even more than it already has.

Remember in my last post when I mentioned my latest craze with Steel City Pops? As much as I love going there with friends, I was also inspired from my first visit to get my hands on some popsicle molds to make some DIY treats. (Kitchen DIYs are about the only kind of DIY project I can handle, by the way.) I remember my mom freezing apple juice in popsicle molds when I was a kid; I also remember them being a little difficult to get out of the molds, but that didn’t deter me. After an unsuccessful trip to Target (where are you hiding your popsicle molds?!) I found some mini-pops at Kroger.

For my first batch of popsicles, I wanted something summery and tropical, and used what I had on hand: coconut water, strawberries and mango. For added health benefits, including mega anti-inflammatory power, I added turmeric. I honestly hate the taste of turmeric, so the only way I can get it into my diet is to hide it in tropical smoothies. It’s so good for you, and will be especially important for me after racing my 9th half marathon this weekend.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups coconut water
1/2 cup fresh or frozen strawberries
1/2 cup fresh or frozen mango
1/4 teaspoon turmeric

Directions:
Place all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Pour into popsicle molds. Mine made six mini-pops with a bunch leftover, but should also make about six regular-sized pops. Freeze overnight and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

