Uncategorized

Thunder Weekend Wrap Up

Did you have a good weekend? I did! The weather was perfect and it seemed like we packed a lot into just a couple days.

On Friday morning I went on my last long-ish run before this weekend’s race. It was a little humid, but nothing stifling.

I was hungry for a good-sized snack (read: extra meal) by mid-afternoon and so decided to check out Half-Peach Bakery & Cafe. Their menu is entirely vegan, and while everything looked delicious, I ordered their sweet potato wrap. I’ll definitely be back soon, and will probably make a Local Love post about it.

In the evening I went with friends Climb Nulu. We climbed for a bit, and then I took the yoga class that one of my friends was teaching. It helped stretch out my muscles from such an active day, and got me ready for a good night’s sleep.

On Saturday, I broke out my bike for this first time this spring in order to ride to the yoga studio. I took the 90 minute class, which always has me in Child’s Pose sporadically. However, it did feel good to loosen up my muscles.

That afternoon, Nick and I met a friend and his girlfriend for lunch. They were coming into town to watch Thunder Over Louisville that evening. We went to The Grape Leaf, which I hadn’t been to before, but had heard great things about. We had a great time catching up, and the food lived up to its hype. (I ordered their vegetarian sampler and got a feast of food!)

After relaxing a while, Nick and I were looking for something to do. We texted our friends to meet us at the new Steel City Pops in our neighborhood. This was our second time going and we are quickly becoming addicted. The first time we went, I got the strawberry lemonade popsicle, but this time I ordered the coffee pop as a little pick-me-up.

The boys decided to hit around some golf balls before the sun went down, so my friend and I stood by and chatted. Once it was time, we headed back to our neighborhood to try to catch a glimpse of the fireworks show. We were able to see the very tops of the fireworks by standing in the parking lot of the old Phoenix Hill Tavern (locals, you know what I mean.) Although we only got a taste, I could tell it was another great display.

IMG_8270

Sunday morning I used to relax and start reading The Japanese Lover, Isabel Allende’s newest novel. In the past couple years, she has become one of my favorite writers. You can see how many of her books I’ve read on Goodreads.

In the afternoon I went hiking with some friends. I took them to one of my favorite easy trails at Beckley Creek. Afterward, we decided to have brunch at Wild Eggs. This was the third new restaurant I tried this weekend! I had the mushroom veggie burger and told Nick that we should eat here after my half marathon because I was also eyeing the pancakes and waffles…

IMG_8273

Did you do anything fun this weekend? If you’re local, did to attend Thunder Over Louisville?

3 thoughts on “Thunder Weekend Wrap Up

  1. I never heard of Thunder Over Louisville until this year, and now everyone’s talking about it! I must have been living under a rock 🙂 It looks like a blast! That pop place looks so great and their web design is amazing. I’m kind of drooling over it!

Leave a Reply

