Uncategorized

Friday Five

1 I’ve been on such an Asian food kick lately! While I’ve mostly been craving Thai, my to-make list includes fried cauliflower rice and spring rolls. I also treated myself to a bowl of Japanese Pan Noodles (at Noodles) yesterday, as I was craving something substantial with vegetables. (See more of my to-make list on Pinterest!)

2 Last month I led a Literacy & Yoga program at one Jefferson County Public Schools site. Overall, it was a huge success! I was so impressed that my students were able to learn yoga poses, create their own 30 minutes class, and teach it in front of their families. This article (on page two) talks a little bit more about why we were so thrilled with it.

3 I was very excited when I got back to Louisville to find that the Highlands – my part of town – now has its own geofilter on Snapchat. I’ve been using it like crazy while taking photos from around the neighborhood this spring.

Sharing my dinner at El Camino
Sharing my dinner at El Camino

4 Ever since I had the flu, I haven’t wanted to drink coffee. I think my sinuses and respiratory system are still so dried out. That, coupled with the warm weather we had this week, caused me to order the Laura Palmer at Please & Thank You on my weekly catch up with a friend. It mixes a solid black tea with lemonade, garnished with fresh basil.

5 I’m sure a lot of you have seen this by now, but if you haven’t, these two brothers tricked their sister into thinking the zombie apocalypse was going down.

Friday Fitness: After sleeping most of the day Monday, my body snapped back from the flu pretty quickly. Aside from a fatigued respiratory system, getting back into running this week went surprisingly well. Here’s what my week of training looked like:

  • Monday: rest
  • Tuesday: 3 miles
  • Wednesday: 3 miles, strength training
  • Thursday: rest
  • Friday: 11 miles, yoga
  • Saturday: yoga, hiking scheduled
  • Sunday: 2-3 miles scheduled
Leave a Reply

