Uncategorized

Friday Five

1 The flu has knocked me down and out this week. The fever and body aches have passed, but my body is still a bit run down. In addition to canceling Thursday’s visit to Madison, I’m going to have to miss visiting my friend (and former college roommate) in Milwaukee this weekend. Wah wahhhhh. I’m telling myself that the only positive to getting sick over “spring break” is that I don’t have to work and I have plenty of time to rest.

2 What’s your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe? Sara at Cake Over Steak went on a quest to test recipes and find the best. I applaud this lady’s commitment! I love a cookie that’s crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside, preferably with chopped dark chocolate and a little sea salt. Not to be too particular, or anything.

This is essentially my ideal cookie IRL
This is essentially my ideal cookie IRL

3 It hasn’t felt much like spring in Chicago this week, but at least it’s been better than the blizzard that runners battled in the Syracuse Half Marathon last weekend. Yikes! I think I can be fairly certain I won’t have to battle anything that bad at the KDF Mini Marathon in just over three weeks.

4 Did you hear about the girl who wrote her college admission essay about Costco? It’s not really about Costco, it’s about her natural curiosity, and I think it’s brilliant. One of my favorite lines: If there exists a thirty-Β­three ounce jar of Nutella, do we really have free will?

5 Emily at The Pig & Quill has lately graced us with two spring-inspired recipes that are on-point. Check out her roasted fig + potato salad with asparagus + goat cheese + honey-orange balsamic vinaigrette for a meal and her honeyed pistachio and balsamic-roasted (coconut) mousse for dessert. If we eat like it’s spring, will spring actually come?

Friday Fitness: After two really great four-mile runs on Monday and Tuesday, the flu has zapped my energy. I’m choosing to view this as extra rest that will pay off in the long run. I hope to run again on Saturday and/or Sunday (I really want some fresh air!) I had also hoped to get to a local yoga studio for a class, but that will have to wait until my next visit.

One thought on “Friday Five

Leave a Reply

