Uncategorized

The Flu

Linking up with Gretchen and Kristen today for What’s New With You?

8bbce-k5

At the outset of this week, I envisioned this post being all about my visit to Madison. I was really looking forward to exploring some more of the city with my mom before meeting my brother for lunch in between his college classes.

However, the flu had other plans. My mom has been feeling sick since I arrived here to visit her, and as I mentioned in my last post I had a bit of a sore throat on Tuesday. Well, by lunchtime Wednesday I started to feel really awful. It started with a fever, and then the chills, and then body aches. I spent all afternoon in bed, napping sporadically while watching reruns of Bones and Castle. Finally, by 5:00PM I was so fed up with it all, I took NyQuil and slept for 12 hours.

I can’t remember the last time I had the flu! Apart from some colds, I haven’t been really sick my freshman year of college (when almost everybody gets sick in the dorms.) I think that’s what makes this extra hard to endure; I’m just not used to feeling this bad.

Today, my fever has broken but I’m still congested and exhausted. My mom’s feeling about the same. We’re taking an easy day, only venturing out for spicy Thai food at lunch, which we’re hoping will boost our health. As I write this, I’m back under the covers, likely to take another nap soon.

Red curry for my mom and drunken noodles for me
Red curry for my mom and drunken noodles for me

So, tell me, what’s new with you? Do you have any tips for dealing with the flu? Anything (apart from rest) that you feels help you get over a virus faster?

One thought on “The Flu

Leave a Reply

