Local Love

Local Love: Louisville Cream

Now that it’s spring, I think the time is right to start thinking about ice cream. Actually, I enjoy ice cream year-round, but it’s only been in the last few weeks that Louisville Cream has been scooping on the weekends again.

Is it fair to call these guys the ice cream dream team? I think it’s justified. I first tasted their unique flavors last summer at the Flea Off Market events, and immediately fell in love with their self-described “premium small batch ice cream.” It is some the creamiest ice cream I have ever had!

Bourbon Pecan and Cornflake Praline
Bourbon Pecan and Cornflake Praline

The first flavor I tried was Camp Marshmallow, which has marshmallow cream and candied rice cereal. The second I tried was Bourbon Pecan and Cornflake Praline, which has all its namesake, plus a maple caramel swirl. Now, if you’re like Nick and you think these flavors sound a bit weird all I can say is, “Keep Louisville Weird.” And also, don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it, because they are delicious.

weird
Via

Most recently, I braved the freezing rain in early March for LC’s first event of the season. I enjoyed a scoop of Samoa Cookie Butter on the spot, which tasted like the Girl Scout cookie. I also took home a pint of their vegan Butchertown Brownie (the brownies come from Flora Vegan Treats!) Locals, rest assured that it tasted nothing like the way Butchertown smells (haha!) While I loved that they offered a vegan option, it wasn’t as creamy as their dairy-made ice creams, nor was it as creamy as other vegan ice creams I’ve had. Still, I don’t hold that against them.*

Samoa Cookie Butter
Samoa Cookie Butter

I’m excited to hear that they plan to start selling through local grocers. In the meantime, 10/10 would recommend following their Instagram (look for my regram!) to find out where they’ll be this summer.

*Disclaimer: I don’t buy or eat than many dairy products anymore, but Louisville Cream is one thing I splurge on.

2 thoughts on “Local Love: Louisville Cream

Leave a Reply

