Uncategorized

Friday Five

1 I realize that if you’re vising the home page of my blog, you’ll see two Friday Five posts in a row. I took a bit of a blogging break this past week, as it was Nick’s spring break and we chose to get some chores done and do some fun things together. Margaret of Young & Rungry just wrote an excellent post about taking a blogging break; like her, I blog for enjoyment and to connect with others, therefore I don’t put pressure on myself to write if I don’t feel inspired or if I want to spend my time elsewhere for a week.

2 One of the fun things Nick and I did this week was go to Blaze Pizza for $3.14 pizzas on Pi Day, which was Monday. Nick heard they sold more than 1,300 pizzas that day! It was my first time going, and I loved that I got to choose all of my toppings, including the vegan cheese. Even at the regular price, I would definitely go back anytime I’m craving a pizza in a hurry.

Nick's pizza on top, mine on bottom
Nick’s pizza up top, mine on the bottom

3 On Tuesday evening, Nick and I teamed up with one of my friends for Fleet Feet Louisville’s St. Patrick’s Day scavenger hunt run. The rules were that all team members had to stay together (no splitting up), take photos on only one camera/phone, and finish in an hour. Items on the list were given points based on how difficult they might be to find, or how far they were from our starting and stopping points. Our team didn’t win, but we had a lot of fun running around the Highlands before booking it to Great Flood Brewing Company. After the awards were given out, there were Thirsty Pedaler rides to take us back to Fleet Feet to get our cars.

4 Apart from a short run on Monday and the scavenger hunt run, I haven’t been able to run this week. My muscles have been so ridiculously tight that my legs fatigue very quickly. I saw my massage therapist for a second appointment on Wednesday to try to loosen up my quads and hip flexors. She gave me this roller to borrow, and in her words, “It hurts like hell,” but I think it’s helping…even though I know have these bruises all along my thighs.

5 On a lighter note, Nick and I attended Creative Mornings this morning, and heard from Elizabeth O’Neil, Master Taster for Woodford Reserve. I learned a little more about the complexity of bourbon, and what being a master taster means (besides that you get to drink a lot of bourbon.) It was a nice follow up to the wine tasting that Nick and I did with my brother- and sister-in-law at the beginning of his spring break.

"Because bourbon" just makes sense in Kentucky
“Because bourbon” just makes sense in Kentucky

Friday Fitness: I’ve had to accept that the past few weeks have not gone according to the training plans that I’ve laid out for myself. I’ve had to think long-term and take it easy now so that I can resolve this muscular situation ASAP and be able to put in solid training the closer I get to my spring half marathon. That said, here’s that this week looks like:

  • Monday: 3 miles, strength training
  • Tuesday: 2.6 miles
  • Wednesday: 2.5 mile walk, strength training, massage
  • Thursday: 3 mile hike
  • Friday: rest
  • Saturday: 9 miles scheduled
  • Sunday: yoga scheduled
One thought on “Friday Five

  1. Wow that pizza looks incredible! I don’t know why we didn’t think to eat pizza on Pi day. We pretty much always have pizza on our minds. Also, love the idea of a scavenger hunt!
    Hope your muscles get to feeling better.

Leave a Reply

