Uncategorized

Friday Five

1 I found this article about where clothing donations really go to be very interesting! As I’ve grown out of clothing items, I’ve donated much to Goodwill or the Salvation Army, but now I’m having second thoughts…. One thing I also do now is take clothing items I would otherwise donate to Honduras with me. That way I have older clothes to work in, and I can leave them behind where I know someone will find a use for them. (Pro tip: this also allows more room for purchases on the return trip!)

2 Speaking of traveling, how many of the most beautiful buildings in each state have you visited? Do you agree with the one picked for your state? I’ve seen the Carbide and Carbon Building (though I’m not sure it would be my pick for my home state), West Baden Springs Hotel, Churchill Downs, and the Biltmore Estate. Maybe one of these days I’ll make it to all 50 states and see each of them.

Nick and I went with my brother- and sister-in-law to explore West Baden this fall.
Nick and I went with my brother- and sister-in-law to explore West Baden this fall.

3 Keeping with my intention to put leafy greens on my plate, I’m always on the look out for new and tasty recipes. I’ve been slightly slacking on the leafy green front, although we’re still eating plenty of broccoli. This particular recipe by Minimalist Baker (my favorite) caught my eye because sun dried tomatoes. And if you count basil as a leafy green (it’s leafy and it’s green), you’ve got a double dose.

4 We’re attending a fundraiser gala for Friends of Honduran Children in Indianapolis this weekend. It’s going to be held at the IndyCar Factory and they will be auctioning off Honduran made products to benefit the organization and its mission. I’m excited to see some of the people I’ve traveled with to Honduras, as well as the opportunity to get fancy.

5 This week I went into the dental school clinic with Nick so that he could clean my teeth. It’s the third time I’ve gone to see him, and it’s not as awkward as people might think. For example, he can’t accidentally poke me with an instrument and tell me I’m bleeding because I don’t floss…he makes me floss every night. I did have one little baby cavity (technical term) that was so superficial that he didn’t even need to give me anesthetic before drilling and filling. I did lay off the sweets for the rest of the day, though 😉

Via
Via
Via
Via

Friday Fitness: My knee has been healing up nicely, but I’m still dealing with some mega-tight muscles. I’m easing back into things and this is what my training looked like this week:

  • Monday: 3 miles, power yoga
  • Tuesday: restorative yoga
  • Wednesday: 4 miles, strength training
  • Thursday: 1 mile, restorative yoga
  • Friday: rest
  • Saturday: 8 miles scheduled
  • Sunday: power yoga scheduled
Leave a Reply

