Uncategorized

Friday Five

Essentially, this is the Honduras edition of Friday Five. Be prepared for many Honduras-centered posts in the next week.

1 Nuun hydration tablets have accompanied me running and hiking for over a year now, but I’ve also brought a tube with me on my two most recent trips to Honduras. The weather is hot – it was near 90 the first few days we were there – and we spend a lot of time working outside. These are perfect for keeping my hydrated and providing a vitamin boost. My favorite is the Nuun All Day Blueberry Pomegranate.

2 I didn’t buy many souvenirs on this trip, but I did get a bag of coffee beans for my dad, my mom, and me. I might be a little partial, but I think the best coffee comes from Honduras.

IMG_7571

3 While walking around a rural village on a brigade, delivering food to families in need, one of my Honduran friends educated me on the types of fruit trees growing in the area. I saw papaya, oranges, little tiny mangoes, and the new-to-me marañón, which has an external seed that must be cooked and is used in packaged trail mixes.

IMG_7595

4 Even though this message from Pope Francis was from a year ago, it still holds true, and feels especially meaningful at this moment. “Whenever our interior life becomes caught up in its own interests and concerns, there is no longer room for others, no place for the poor. God’s voice is no longer heard, the quiet joy of his love is no longer felt, and the desire to do good fades.”

5 On our last night in Honduras, we gathered some of the kids at Nuevo Paraíso for a concert; four of our group members are talented musicians, and they entertained us for over half an hour. For the encore, the kids requested a second go at La Bamba.

One thought on “Friday Five

Leave a Reply

