Recipes

Wellness Bowl No. 5

Today I’ve got an iron-rich smoothie bowl for you! While iron is important for everyone, active females have to be extra vigilant about iron intake. Active females eating a plant-based diet have to be even more vigilant!

Side note: one thing I’ve been meaning to do (for a long time) is to have my iron levels checked. It’s been a while, and I really should do it. I want to know whether I am getting enough iron from my diet alone or if I should add a supplement. I simply haven’t made time, but I need you guys to hold me accountable, okay?

In the meantime, I will continue eating my leafy greens (2016 intentions going strong!) and this smoothie bowl that tastes like a chocolate covered strawberry and packs in more than 50% of your daily value of iron.

The first source of iron in this smoothie is Vega Protein & Greens, a vegan protein powder. I’ve been using this product, as well as Vega Sport products, for the past few months and couldn’t love them more. Because the protein comes from plants, you also get two servings of vegetables in each scoop. Win-win!

The second source is hemp hearts. At first I was skeptical about hemp hearts, having once sampled a hemp protein powder that tasted like grass, but I took a leap of faith and bought a bag from Costco (anything Costco-sized is a true commitment!) I was pleased to find that hemp hearts on their own have a nutty flavor, but in smoothies are hardly noticeable. In addition to iron, they offer protein, fiber, and omega-3 fatty acids. Win-win, again!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Ingredients:
1 banana, fresh or frozen (frozen will make it thicker)
1 cup frozen strawberries (or mixed berries)
1 cup milk of choice
1 scoop chocolate Vega Protein & Greens
3 tablespoons hemp hearts
1 tablespoon cacao nibs (optional)

Directions: Place all the ingredients, except cacao nibs, in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. Top with cacao nibs for extra iron and more chocolate flavor, or another topping that you love. Enjoy!

Wellness Bowls 1 2 3 4

2 thoughts on “Wellness Bowl No. 5

  1. I first got into smoothie bowls this summer when I worked at a vegan juice bar, which by the way I miss having juices on the daily. This bowl looks so good. I love vega protein. I have tried it and will never go back to any other plant-based proteins!!!

Leave a Reply

