Uncategorized

Friday Five

There’s no better time than the present to start a new weekly series. I know quite a few bloggers share some form of their “Friday Five” and I’m finally getting on board. Without further ado, here we go!

1 My friend gave me this French Press coffee maker for Christmas. I always assumed a French Press would be complicated, but the process is really simple; so simple that I can do it without first having coffee – ha! It makes a deliciously strong brew that I usually reserve for days when I can use a rapid boost of caffeine. (I don’t like to be over-caffeinated when I run or my heart rate will spike.)

2 I bought this hat back at the end of November but it has pretty much been attached to my head ever since. Not only is it keeping me really warm in the current frigid temperatures, but I am 100% on board with Ann’s “Do yoga, run faster” message. Bonus: she includes the sweetest handwritten notes with her packages.

 

IMG_6821

3 I finished reading Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert earlier this week. I appreciated her take on inspiration, that if you welcome it into your life, and you cultivate creativity, it will work with you. Lately (read: for the past few years) I’ve felt a lack of inspiration for fictional writing, and I’ve decided to do more to create opportunities for that in my life. My friend and I also selected this to be the first book for the book club that we’re beginning this month. (More on that later!)

4 How decadent does this Almost Raw Crunch Caramel Slice look? But really, with oats, dates and nuts…you could eat second helpings, right? I think this will be added to my “to-make” list, which is constantly growing over here on Pinterest.

Via Oh, Ladycakes
Via Oh, Ladycakes

5 The world lost a few greats this week: David Bowie, Alan Rickman, and Andrew Smith, who was my classmate at Butler, a fantastic basketball player, and a great guy.

Have a great weekend! If you’ve got a Friday Five, please link it below in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Friday Five

  1. Love the idea of a Friday Five. “so simple that I can do it without first having coffee – ha!” I am glad I’m not the only one who is not functional without coffee 🙂 I have always thought a French press was complicated too.. maybe it’s something I need to look into!

Leave a Reply

