Local Love

Local Love: Queen of Sheba

Queen of Sheba was one of the first restaurants we ate at after we got married and I moved to Louisville. It was a cold February weekend 2014, and my college roommate/friend was visiting from Indianapolis. We wanted to meet her relatives that live in Louisville for dinner, and let them pick the place. They suggested Queen of Sheba, and while we’d never had Ethiopian food before, we were game.

Fossolia wrap appetizer
Fossolia wrap appetizer

 

The first thing you need to know about Ethiopian food, if you don’t already, is that everyone’s meal is served together on a large platter. You use pieces of injera, a flat bread, to grab bite-sized portions of your food. (They will, however, bring your meal on a separate plate, with silverware, if you request it.)

Gomen wot on the left, Engudai tips on the right
Gomen wot on the left, Engudai tips on the right

From that first visit, I’ve really enjoyed this unique style of dining. Instead of burying my face in my plate (which I’m often guilty of when runger strikes) I end up interacting more with whoever is at the table with me. I also think that eating this food with your hands actually makes it taste better (probably just a mental thing, but that’s how I feel about all finger food.) The tables have turned, and we now love bringing guests here because of all this.

Here are a few of the things we like to order:

  • Fossolia wrap: an appetizer that consists of green beans, carrots, onion in tomato sauce that is wrapped in four pieces of injera
  • Gomen wot: this is my entree of choice, and uses collard greens, potatoes, and onion in a light garlic sauce
  • Engudai tips: mushrooms, green pepper, and onion cooked in garlic and butter
  • Baklava: a modest portion, that is served warm (it’s so good)

I can’t personally recommend any of the meat dishes, but my dad ordered meat when he visited and was pleased. All the dishes are served with a small salad and side of lentils, which are good enough to be an entree in my opinion.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
We brought my dad here on one of his to Louisville visits last year

Quickly, I want to apologize for the quality of these photos; with the combination of the low lighting and my iPhone camera…I just can’t capture the true beauty of this food!

Have you ever eaten Ethiopian food? If so, what did you think?

What is your favorite ethnic cuisine?

2 thoughts on “Local Love: Queen of Sheba

Leave a Reply

