Recipes

Dark Chocolate Chip Tahini Cookies (Vegan)

Hello! I hope the new year has been treating you well. How have your resolutions, goals and intentions been going so far? I’m happy to report that, evening with missing a yoga class on Tuesday because I spent too much time chatting with my friends at Dunkin’ Donuts, I have been eating leafy greens every day this week.

I’m also happy to report that I’m here with my first recipe post of 2016! Today I’ve got dark chocolate chip tahini cookies, inspired by this post. I made these vegan, and a little on the lighter side, in the interest of creating a cookie that nourishes both body + spirit.

tahini2

 

If you’ve never had tahini, it’s basically sesame seed butter. You know, like peanut butter but with sesame seeds. Admittedly, the first time I tried tahini on its own, I was not a fan. However, I used it last year in these hamantaschen, and now I understand. Mixed with dark chocolate in a chewy cookie? Yes, please.

tahini1

Ingredients:
1/2 cup tahini
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
6 tablespoons maple syrup
1/4 cup almond milk
1/3 cup almond flour
2/3 cup white whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup rolled oats
1/4 – 1/2 cup non-dairy dark chocolate chips

Directions:
Mix together the tahini, coconut oil and maple syrup. Add in the almond milk and combine. Stir in the flours, salt and baking soda. Add in the oats and stir again. Finally, add in the chocolate chips and mix it all together. Chill the dough in the fridge for about half an hour. Go and occupy yourself with other tasks.

Preheat the oven to 325. Place parchment paper on a baking sheet. Use a cookie scoop (or spoon or hands) to place dough on the parchment paper lined pan. Press the balls of dough down with your hand to spread into a cookie shape. Bake for about 12-15 minutes. Remove from the oven, cool, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

