Uncategorized

Guest Post: Nick’s Favorite Movies of 2015

If you’re a blog reader, you may have been up to your neck in posts looking back on 2015 this week. However, I’ve got just one more on this blog, I promise, and it’s a guest post from Nick, my husband. When Nick proposed this post, I enthusiastically accepted because I thought it would be fun to hear a different voice on this blog, especially my better half. So, without further ado…

Nick and Catniss reading (movie reviews?)
Nick and Catniss reading (movie reviews?)

In 2015 I saw 16 movies in theaters. That is by far the most movies I have seen in one calendar year in my whole life. I didn’t have a New Year’s Resolution to see more movies in 2015, there were just a lot of movies early in the year that I wanted to see. At these movies, I would see a preview for another movie I thought looked good, and would go see that movie. I heard on the news that 2015 was the biggest box office year in history, so I suppose I am not the only person who saw a lot of movies this year. Here are the movies I saw and a little of what I thought about them. I’ll try not to have any spoilers!

My top five favorite movies of 2015 were:

5. Minions – I really liked this movie. The minions were one of my favorite parts of the Despicable Me movies. It’s funny how they are incapable of completing simple tasks and always mess everything up.

4. Star Wars: The Force Awakens – I will admit, at first I was skeptical of another Star Wars movie. I liked the ending of episode VI so much I didn’t want the story to continue. However, this was one of my favorite movies all year, and I cannot wait until the next movie comes out.

3. McFarland, USA – Laura and I both really liked this movie. The fact that it is such a good story and is a true story is really neat! Neither of us ran cross country in high school, but we both enjoy running races now, so it was fun to see a movie about running. When we are running up hills, we say that we need to, “channel our inner Danny” in reference to the movie.

2. Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2 – I saw this movie by myself on a Saturday afternoon while Laura was away. This was one of my favorite movies this year and I thought it was hilarious. I did not see the first Paul Blart movie, but it wasn’t really necessary to follow this movie. The movie was geared toward kids and teenagers, so the plot was somewhat predictable, but I still thought it was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. Also, I like Kevin James, and he had a great performance.

1. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2 – The first Hunger Games is one of my all-time favorite movies. My heart was pounding the entire time the tributes were in the games. While this movie was not on the same level in my opinion, I thought it was a great ending to a great story. I love the President Snow character. When the movie was over, I asked Laura if I could be President Snow when I grow up, but she said no. She’s no fun.

The other movies I saw this year were:

Into the Woods – This was the only movie I saw outside of Louisville. Our Florida vacation at the end of 2014 was cut short, so Laura and I had an extra day in Huntingburg, my hometown.  We decided to go to a movie in Jasper, and my brother Phil tagged along. I didn’t realize there would be so much singing, but I did enjoy the movie. I thought it was neat how several fairy tales were combined into one story.

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies – I had been looking forward to this movie since seeing the second installment of The Hobbit saga at my bachelor party. I enjoyed seeing the end to the story, but I definitely liked the Lord of the Rings movies better than The Hobbit movies. I liked the music and battle scenes in the Lord of the Rings movies more than the Hobbit movies.

Kingsmen – This movie was fun to watch. It was action-packed and had several funny parts. It is rated R probably because the fighting scenes are vulgar (which I thought was hilarious, but Laura thought was disgusting). Samuel L. Jackson played the villain, and he was absolutely phenomenal. His character is in my top 3 favorite villains of all-time, along with Dr. Evil and President Snow (more on the president later).

Insurgent – This movie was the second part in the Divergent series. I enjoyed it and am anxiously awaiting the third movie to come out this March to finish out the series.

Age of Adeline – Laura and I saw this movie with her dad, Brad, while he was visiting us here in Louisville. The story was neat, and the movie had several beautiful views of San Francisco and the forests of Northern California.

San Andreas – This movie was interesting. I don’t know how grounded in science the effects of an extremely large earthquake are in this movie, but the effects were definitely interesting to see.

Aloha – This was a cute movie. I enjoyed it, but I don’t think it received great reviews.

Jurassic World – Laura and I foolishly decided to meet some friends at this movie on the Saturday of opening weekend. About 8 of us were planning to meet at the theater, but only Laura, my classmate, Brittany, and I made it into the movie before it was sold out. I always liked dinosaurs growing up, so it was really cool to see realistic looking ones with today’s technology.

Tomorrowland – Laura and I went to go see this movie last minute after she learned that a yoga teacher meeting was cancelled. In the movie, the end of the world was near. I was hoping that the movie would talk more about how the world would end, rather than just that the world was going to end.

Inside Out – This movie was very cool! The emotions were all very cool characters. I also liked how the girl’s parents had emotion characters too.

Hotel Transylvania 2 – Laura and I saw the first movie in Indy while we were at Butler. I really liked that movie, and I enjoyed this one too. It was funny to see Dracula bring the vampire out in his grandson.

I don’t think I’ll see as many movies this year as in 2015, but there are a few I am excited to see already!

What movies did you see and enjoy last year?

What movies are you excited to see this year?

Leave a Reply

