Uncategorized

What I Ate Wednesday

I guess it’s the foodie in me, but I love reading through What I Ate Wednesday posts. The purpose of these posts is to celebrate food and inspire others’ creations; it is not to judge, compare or create guilt about how your lifestyle may be different than that of someone else. So, without further ado…

Breakfast was the same as almost every morning, oatmeal with peanut butter, a banana, and cinnamon. While I sometimes mix things up, this breakfast is one of my ultimate comfort meals and gives me the energy I need to start my day.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I also had coffee in the new mug that my dad got for me – it’s my new favorite, not just because of the kitten, but because it holds 16oz.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

After going on a mid-morning run with Nick, I went over to my friend’s house to use her juicer. Since we’re leaving town this Friday, Nick and I are trying to use up all of our produce and I figured juicing would be an efficient way to do this. We made carrot and clementine, with a dash of turmeric; it was really good! (I don’t normally drink juices, but I think I might start making a kale and apple juice to try to get even more iron-rich greens into my diet.)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

For lunch I had the stir fry that was leftover from the previous day’s lunch at Ramsi’s. I also had a pita with Trader Joe’s white bean and basil hummus.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I was still a little hungry, so I grabbed an apple (how tiny are these?!) and a Larabar Alt Protein on my way out the door to teach yoga. This one of my favorite brands of protein bars that happen to be vegan.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

In the morning, I had prepared ratatouille for the slow cooker and intended on serving it for dinner, even though it finished cooking early afternoon. However, by the time I was home from teaching yoga, I was hungry enough to have a bowl. The recipe comes from a book of slow cooker vegetarian meals, and is fairly simple if you don’t mind chopping the eggplant, onion and zucchini (I buy my mushrooms pre-sliced.)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Later in the afternoon, I got a strong craving for frozen yogurt. Nick said he’d like some as well, so we walked the few blocks over to Lula’s Frozen Yogurt & Treats. I got the same thing I always get: a swirl of the chocolate and cake batter yogurts, with hot fudge and peanut butter sauces, and a few pieces of Reese’s and Oreos. I am a notorious chocoholic.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Before running some errands in the evening, I also had another of the tiny apples with peanut butter, and that was that.

Looking back on today, it was not a typical day for me at all; I normally eat way more fruits than veggies, and don’t get frozen yogurt on a regular basis. However, I do think it represents how I eat in general: mostly healthy and nutrient-dense food, with some treats to enjoy when I feel like it.

Do you typically eat more fruits or vegetables?

What was your favorite treat to get?

What did you eat today?

 

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

Leave a Reply

