Recipes

Vegan Date Shake

Over ten years ago, my family made a day trip to Palm Springs while visiting my Nana in southern California for Christmas. One of the things we did that day was to visit Shields Date Garden in Indio. I’d never eaten a date before and I wasn’t sure I would like them. We all ordered date shakes and I was surprised at how sweet it was. My original skepticism turned to satisfaction.

As I count down the days to another Christmas spent in sunny So Cal, I’ve been wanting to recreate that date shake. Shields makes their shake with vanilla ice cream and date crystals. I wanted to lighten mine up a bit because I’ve already begun indulging in holiday cookies. What I came up with is a perfectly tasty, not too sweet, somewhat seasonal, dairy-free, and nourishing shake.

date shake

Ingredients:
1 1/2 frozen bananas
1 cup vanilla almond milk (or milk of choice)
2 dates, pitted
1 heaping tablespoon almond butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Sprinkle of cinnamon

Directions:
Place all the ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.

Be patient, but the longer you wait, the smoother it gets. You may need to scrape the sides to make sure the dates blend in; a few chunks are A-OK. Enjoy!

One thought on “Vegan Date Shake

Leave a Reply

