Running

Yoga for Runners Workshop

Last weekend I had the incredible opportunity to teach a Yoga for Runners workshop at Yoga on Ridley. A few months ago, Graylin had put out the idea to teach a workshop in her space, and before I knew what I was doing, I jumped on it. The thought of teaching yoga for runners had been floating around in my head for a while, but I hadn’t acted on it until this opportunity.

My goal for this workshop was to teach a flow that would demonstrate how yoga can be used an efficient warm-up before a run, an excellent form of cross-training for strength and stamina, and a means to gain greater flexibility after any kind of workout. In the warm-up, I focused on “waking up” all the major muscle groups used in running, especially the core. If you’ve ever taken a yoga class from me, you know how much emphasis I put on core strength! The strengthening portion targeted the full body, which is what yoga does naturally. I based this off the power yoga sequence that I learned in teacher training. For the opening and release, we stretched the major muscle groups, especially the hips, to improve flexibility and range of motion.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The students of this workshop were so welcoming and easy-going. I had a great time leading their practice and hope to meet them on their mats again in the future. I can’t thank Graylin enough to bringing me into her studio for this class. That day was also the first day in an Instagram photo challenge hosted by Runners Love Yoga that I am participating in, so the timing was felicitous. (Follow along with the challenge here!)

If you’d like to know more about the content of the workshop, don’t be shy! Leave me a comment or send me a note via the contact form on this blog.

2 thoughts on “Yoga for Runners Workshop

Leave a Reply

