Local Love

Local Love: Blue Dog Bakery & Cafe

I guess you could say it was love at first bite.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 4.09.47 PM

My first taste of a Blue Dog chocolate croissant was at a Creative Mornings event that they catered this summer. It was so flaky and had just the right amount of chocolate. (Well, I’m always up for more chocolate, but this had enough.) It was also perfectly gorgeous. It was a repeat performance at the next month’s event as well.

Since then, Blue Dog Bakery & Cafe has been on my to-try list. It wasn’t until yesterday that I finally made it there for brunch with a friend. I liked it so much that I met a different friend for lunch there today. I think the service staff might have noticed…

Located on Frankfort Avenue, Blue Dog is an artisan bakery that offers a small brunch and lunch menu. Brunch options, including toasted baguettes with jam and a few savory sandwiches, are offered in the morning. On my first visit, I couldn’t resist a chocolate croissant along with a mimosa. The mimosa was beautiful, and very refreshing. Along with cocktails, they serve illy coffee and a wine & beer list is available.

A bit later in the day, you can order their lunch sandwiches, and in the hours before close you can choose from their salads and pizzas. On my second visit, I decided to try their sandwich with artichoke hearts, boursin, eggplant, red bell pepper, tapenade, mozzarella and mayo. (Not exactly plant-based, but a nice treat. Progress, not perfection!) I was seriously tempted to get their grapefruit and avocado salad as well. That will be my excuse to go another time.

Screen Shot 2015-10-08 at 4.14.01 PM

My recommendation is that you look at the menu before going so that you know what time you can order the item you want. You can get anything from the bakery from open until close in the afternoon.

Photos via Blue Dog Baker & Cafe

Leave a Reply

