Uncategorized

Four Years

This past Monday, Nick and I celebrated four years since he asked me out on our first date.

At the time, we had been friends for about a year. Our sophomore year at Butler we had lived down the hall from each other, hung around with the same friends, and played on the same intramural team. By the spring semester, we had begun running together, which was an excuse to spend time together without our friends.

When we came back to campus for our junior year, we picked back up with our afternoon runs. (You know I really liked him when I agreed to run in the afternoon; I am definitely a morning runner.) While we didn’t do much talking on our runs, I always did a lot of thinking. I really like him, does he like me too? If so, when is he going to ask me out on a date?

One day I just couldn’t handle the tension anymore. While we were running along the canal, I thought, This is it! Back at our dorm, we had begun our routine stretches when I asked him if I could talk to him. What I’m pretty sure I said was, “Nick, I really like being your friend, but I’d like to be something more, too.” (Nick, is that how you remember it?) He told me that he liked me too and then asked, “So, would you want to go on a date sometime, then?” I laughed and said yes! I also proceeded to run back into my apartment and squeal with my roommates, because that’s what you do at 20 years old. (In his defense, he had planned to ask me out after a big exam and a visit from his parents was over, but I just jumped the gun.)

For our first date, he surprised me with roses, my favorite candy (peanut butter cups), and dinner at Bucca di Beppo. It was perfect. That’s why this year for our anniversary I wanted to surprise him. I’m not very good at keeping surprises – I just get too excited – but I pulled this one off. I borrowed a blanket from a friend, picked up some pita, hummus, and other easy-to-eat food, and took him on a picnic. I made sure to include dark chocolate peanut butter cups for dessert.

11181826_10205057895744184_3350038065301892882_n

Here’s to many more years of wonderful dates!

Leave a Reply

