Recipes

Wellness Bowl No. 4

I’ve been intending to write several blog posts in the past week but they haven’t happened. Between working late a few nights, being asked last minute to substitute three yoga classes, and sending off our good neighbor-friends as they move to Scotland, I haven’t made time to sit down and write.

Today, I’m making time to share a quick recipe with you. I’m about three and a half weeks out from my fall half marathon, feeling a little fatigued as I get back into training after injury and a little bogged down by allergies. I made this smoothie to give me the little boost I need. It’s filled with antioxidants and anti-inflammatory foods, like chia seeds and cherries. I even put in a little local honey to help combat my seasonal allergies (I do believe this helps!) and to add some sweetness. Tell me, do you have any home remedies for mitigating allergies? I’d love to read them in the comments below!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Ingredients:
1/2 cup almond milk, or milk of choice
1 banana
1 handful of kale
1 cup frozen tart cherries, or mixed cherries
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1 teaspoon honey

Directions: Add almond milk, banana and kale to a blender or food processor and blend well. Add the cherries and blend until smooth. Pour into a bowl and top with chia seeds, honey, and whatever else you like. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Wellness Bowl No. 4

Leave a Reply

