Uncategorized

July 2015

As much as I savored June and it rolled slowly by, I can’t believe July has already come to an end! It’s the same every year: once the 4th of July comes and goes, the rest of summer is a whirlwind. Luckily, Nick and I are ready to kickoff August with a road trip to Asheville, Atlanta and Chattanooga.

Traveled: To Naperville to see my mom’s new digs. While I was there we unpacked all the home decorations and started to arrange them all. I probably don’t have a future career in home styling, though.

Read: The Wild Girls, In the Time of the Butterflies, The Girl on the Train, Walkable City.

Listened to: My first audiobook in almost two years, Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, read by David Sedaris himself. This helped pass the time on the 11 hour round trip to my mom’s.

Watched: Inside Out on a weekday date night with Nick. I didn’t know what to expect, even though the girl I nanny for promised me it was good, but we both loved it!

Ran: 103 miles, even though I spent the last week of the month resting. I ran my highest mileage week, 30 miles, in over a year. Increasing mileage without injury has been a slow, impatient process.

Injured: My low back. My massage therapist thinks my back muscles did something wonky on a trail run. After a strict regiment of resting, heating, foam rolling, stretching, and icing, I’m (fingers crossed) about to be back in business (no pun intended.)

Sweat: A lot, because this month was a hot one!

Celebrated: The 4th of July with a friend by going to the Flea Off Market and my first Louisville City FC game. Of course we stayed downtown to watch the fireworks at the Waterfront.

Taught: Four in-studio classes. I also co-taught three days of a kids’ yoga camp through the studio’s outreach program. It was fun to spend some time with my little students over the summer!

Attended: Creative Mornings, with Lou Lenzi of GE speaking on collaboration at Copper & Kings.

Hosted: The second meeting of my coloring book club, except this time we just chatted over drinks and snacks and never got around to coloring!

Enjoyed: This article about the decision to change names when getting married (I don’t agree with her, but it is a very personal decision), and these quick tips about food photography.

IMG_4703
All smiles after a run at the Parklands
Leave a Reply

