Local Love

Local Love: Funmi’s Cafe

First things first, I apologize for slacking on this series of posts. It’s not that I haven’t been out and about, I’ve just been doing a lot of the same old, same old.

Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. For instance, today I want to share one of our favorite usual spots in town, Funmi’s Cafe.

Vegan platter
Vegan platter

Funmi’s gave me my first taste of Nigerian food. I didn’t know what to expect from this West African cuisine, but as soon as I saw plantains on the menu, I was sold. It also helped that there are a lot of vegetarian and vegan friendly options.

As an appetizer, we like to start with the moin-moin, which is a bean cake. The texture is nothing like I anticipated the first time we took a chance: it’s light and almost fluffy. It’s also extremely delicious with its spicy sauce.

Nick and I both really enjoy their fried plantains (called dodo) as well. I first ate plantains in Honduras, and I’m thrilled to find how many cultures incorporate them into their cuisine. I always eat them last because they are a sweet finish.

We also like the adalu (brown beans and corn), the house vegan stew, and a few others that aren’t on their updated menu. Taking a look at it, I’m excited to go find a few new favorites (although Nick will miss some of the old!)

 

3 thoughts on “Local Love: Funmi’s Cafe

  1. I love plantains.. love baking them in coconut oil and then sprinkling with sea salt afterward. I’m sure I would love this place!

Leave a Reply

