Uncategorized

Feel to Heal

Last night in the class I attended at my studio, I found out that, at that same time, two free classes were being offered to the public by Charleston Power Yoga, another Baptiste Affiliate studio. On their Facebook page, they posted this,

Please feel free to come and breathe. Shed your tears through your skin. Open your hearts and prayers to the families in need. And connect to love for that is all that is real~
“Three things will last foreverβ€”faith, hope, and loveβ€”and the greatest of these is love” ~ 1 Corinthians 13:13

What happened can’t be fixed with one yoga practice, but that one communal practice might begin the healing process for someone.

While I can’t entirely explain it, I’ve seen the healing effects of yoga myself. Maybe it’s because the practice demands a connection with oneself, both the physical body and the mind. Yoga demands that you feel sensations, and what might begin as an intense opening in your hips or your chest can release a flow of emotions. We often say that “the issues are in our tissues,” and while I have no concrete evidence of it, I’ve felt it and seen others feel it, both joy and sadness, laughter and tears. The practice is there for you if you allow it to be.

I can’t explain it, and I think that’s what makes it so powerful.

Leave a Reply

