Local Love

Local Love: Broad Ripple Brew Pub

First, I have to get this off my chest: this post was supposed to happen a month ago. In May, Nick and I went up to Indy for Butler’s graduation, and found time to eat lunch at my favorite local spot. Unfortunately, I didn’t find make time to write about it until now.

It started with a beer. Specifically, the first beer I legally enjoyed on my 21st birthday. Nick and I had just started dating and he let me pick the place for my birthday dinner. I decided we’d try a micro brewery near campus, the Broad Ripple Brew Pub. To start, I ordered their Lawn Mower Pale Ale. Even though my birthday is in November, I appreciated how refreshing it is.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It only got better from there. BRBP has some of the best food, and best vegetarian/vegan options, in town. Things we’ve ordered and loved: veggie chips (like real English chips), black bean quesadillas, baked falafel, drunken ravioli, Mediterranean pizza, and, of course, the Nutty Burger.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

My love for this burger, made with a blend of roasted nuts, does not acknowledge the limitations of distance. It’s so…nutty, as in more so than I expected. It’s so…tender. I feel weird using that word because people use that word to describe meat, but it is a burger after all, right?

I’d drive two hours just to eat that burger.

Leave a Reply

