Recipes

Tomato, Dill & Goat Gouda Quesadilla

A month into our CSA subscription, I’ve risen to the challenge again. I’ve created a meal with an ingredient I’d never cooked with before: dill.

I know that might seem unbelievable, but I’ve never bought fresh dill before. If a recipe calls for it, I either leave it out or substitute it with another herb. It just seems that you have to buy so much while recipes call for only a few tablespoons of it. Now, the big bunch of dill in my fridge is a sunk cost – this is an important concept in my house, like when I feel guilty for not making the most of my gym membership by going every day. But really, by that logic, I should just spend every free hour at the gym, which makes no sense. Having to use all your dill doesn’t make much sense either.

Anyway, this recipe started with the question, “How can I make this green stuff taste good?” which is a common question in my kitchen. I remembered the Trader Joe’s Goat Milk Gouda I had bought, and knew that it would be so good melted with some dill. One of my favorite cheeses is a Havarti dill, gooey, in an omelet or grilled cheese. Before I knew it, this quesadilla was born.

dill

Ingredients:
1 wrap or tortilla (I used Flat Out)
1 oz. goat milk Gouda
Tomato, sliced
Dill, chopped
Olive oil

Directions:
Lay out the wrap or tortilla and place cheese, tomato and dill on one side. Fold it in half. Heat a little olive oil over medium-low heat in a pan, or spray the pan with olive oil spray (this is what I did.) Place the quesadilla on the pan and cook until golden brown, and then flip to cook the other side. Remove from pan, slice, and devour.

Here’s a look back at my previous CSA creation of this season.

3 thoughts on “Tomato, Dill & Goat Gouda Quesadilla

Leave a Reply

