Running

Mornings

I was never much of a morning person until I was older. Perhaps some of that had to do with being a teenager, even though for me “sleeping in” at the time meant 9AM at the latest. Still, I didn’t know that I was missing the best part of the day.

Early morning run in Cherokee Park. The edited version of this photo was featured on the Runner's World website.
Early morning run in Cherokee Park. The edited version of this photo was featured on the Runner’s World website.

I don’t think I truly appreciated the morning until I became a runner in college. Getting up to run before class introduced me to what early morning means…

Stillness
Gentle sunrises
Soft birdsong
Light foot steps
Deep breaths
Vitality
Hot coffee
Cool air
Easy living

And there is a solidarity with other early risers, the ones who walk to the coffee shop around the corner before most people are out of bed. You have the world to yourselves.

One thought on “Mornings

Leave a Reply

