Recipes

Black Bean Noodles With Peanut Sauce

Last week we received our first CSA box of the season! You might remember last summer when we started subscribing from the CSA to get organic produce every week. It challenged me to cook and eat a larger variety of vegetables. This year, I decided to take on that challenge again, hoping to create some new seasonal favorites.

Our first box was a little, should I say, humdrum. The season hasn’t really kicked off yet, I guess. We were once again inundated with greens. Seriously, are there people who eat salad for lunch & dinner every day? I am not one of them. To be honest, a salad has to have more mix-ins than greens for me to eat it. I’m just not a salad gal.

Anyway, I did make use of the carrots and green onions that we received. Last year we used them in stir fry, but this summer I wanted to use them with our latest adventurous purchase: black bean spaghetti. We found it at Costco, and it has a ridiculous amount of protein in each serving. As a vegetarian, I’m always looking for new ways to step up my protein game. Here’s what I came up with…

black bean pasta

Ingredients:
2 servings of black bean spaghetti
1 cup peeled carrots, packed
1/4 – 1/3 cup sliced green onions
Peanut sauce*

Directions:
Cook your spaghetti according to the package directions. While cooking, use a vegetable peeler to peel your carrots into thin strips. You could also use a spiralizer if you’re that fancy. Slice your green onion. Prepare the peanut sauce. Once the spaghetti is done cooking, drain, and mix everything together in the pot. Devour.

*I used the peanut sauce from this recipe because it is delicious and simple to make, but feel free to use whatever recipe you choose!

2 thoughts on “Black Bean Noodles With Peanut Sauce

  1. I’ve never tried black bean spaghetti, but it sounds interesting! I agree with you on the salad thing – I’ll only eat a salad if there’s tons of pumpkin or chickpeas or just something that’s not arugula!

Leave a Reply

