Uncategorized

Vegan Maple Peanut Butter Cookies

I consider myself a creative. I think most people are, to whatever extent they choose to access that part of themselves. My creative outlets include my writing, photography, practicing and teaching yoga…and of course, cooking and baking.

Today, Nick finishes his second year of dental school. We’re halfway there! (Yes, I did sing that while I typed it.) Naturally, I think this is cause for celebration AKA baked goods. I decided to take on making vegan maple peanut butter cookies.

vscocam-photo-1

For a long time, I didn’t like maple syrup. I guess I got burnt out of the fake-ish stuff that kids put on their Eggos. Then, I was introduced to the magic combination of maple and peanut butter, and I haven’t turned back. Look here and here. I think the key is to use the real stuff. My neighbors recently went to a maple festival (for real) and brought us back a jar of the really good stuff. I looked like that emoji with the heart eyes when she gave it to me.

Ingredients:
3/4 cup flour (I used white whole wheat)
1/2 cup oats
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted and slightly cooled
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
3 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Mix the dry ingredients together in a medium bowl. In another bowl, allow melted coconut oil to cool slightly. Add in the maple syrup, peanut butter and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Form tablespoon-sized balls and place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet. Flatten slightly with your fingers. Bake for about 8 minutes (depending on how soft you like your cookies…I love mine chewy!) Cool on a plate or rack and enjoy!

This recipe should make a dozen cookies, assuming that you didn’t eat half the dough before it went into the oven.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Maple Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

