Honduras

Heart Break

It’s hard to believe that it’s been almost two months since I was in Honduras. I honestly think about the children there every day. The one week every year or so that I get to share with them isn’t enough. At home I’m often thinking What more can I do for them?

After this most recent trip, I’ve volunteered my time and translation skills to the organization that I work with, Friends of Honduran Children. Specifically I am translating social reports put together for the children in Honduras, but I feel that I am in a broader sense translating little pieces of their stories. By reading these stories, I am holding space for them. And often, it breaks my heart.

A friend of mine who hears similarly heartbreaking stories every day told me this:

“I believe that the heart breaking is just so that it makes more room for a love that changes the world. We need more people that feel their heart and let it break.”

If your heart has space for love, please consider being a part of FHC’s campaign, The Heart of Giving.

3 thoughts on “Heart Break

  1. What an awesome experience! I have always wanted to go on a mission trip. I have heard they are truly life changing.

Leave a Reply

