Recipes

Coconut Peanut Butter

Remember last summer when I went through my coconut & chocolate obsession? Well, I still love that combo, but my latest infatuation is with coconut peanut butter.

A few weeks ago, Nick and I were shopping at Whole Foods where they were handing out samples of Earth Balance’s Creamy Coconut and Peanut Spread. Dang was it amazing! It was absolutely creamy, nutty, rich and satisfying. I immediately called Nick over to sample it. While he did like it, he also said, “I bet you could make that.”

Challenge accepted.

This past weekend I begged the use of my mother-in-law’s Vitamix while we were visiting. First, I made coconut butter. Next, I blended that with peanuts to make the pièce de résistance: the coconut peanut butter.

On a perfectly toasted whole wheat English muffin
On a perfectly toasted whole wheat English muffin

To make the coconut butter: Place approximately four cups of unsweetened shredded coconut in a high speed blender and blend until a smooth consistency is reached. It took me longer in my Ninja, but in the Vitamix it took less than a minute.

To make the coconut peanut butter: Place 3 cups of dry roasted peanuts* in the high speed blender and blend until the mixture begins to smooth out. Add in 1/4 cup of the coconut butter and blend until smooth. Spoon into a jar and allow it to cool.

*I used peanuts lightly seasoned with sea salt; if you use unsalted, you may wish to add a little sea salt to your peanut butter.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
Don’t stop ’til you get enough!

 

4 thoughts on “Coconut Peanut Butter

Leave a Reply

