Local Love

Local Love: Havana Rumba

One of the things that I love most about Louisville is its taste of ethnic cultures. While Kentucky may not be known as cosmopolitan, Louisville is home to a community of immigrants from all over the globe. In fact, Louisville houses a more diverse group of immigrants than many other U.S. cities. Just one of the benefits of this is the array of cuisine we all get to enjoy.

This past week, Nick took a day of his spring break to go golfing with a friend. I immediately saw this as an opportunity to not cook and to take myself out to lunch. I decided on Havana Rumba because it’s within walking distance (neighbors with 502 Power Yoga.) I’m also still a little hooked on beans & rice after Honduras last month, and Cubans really know how to do beans & rice.

Hungry after my tempo run from earlier that morning, I ordered the Cubano Vegetariano: a spinach & cheese empanada, yucca with mojo criollo sauce, black beans, rice, and plantains. You better believe that I finished, and savored, every bite or my nickname isn’t comeloncita (it means I like to eat.)

I did truly enjoy my meal slowly; the sweet taste of the plantains got me thinking about Honduras, and I actually busted out my little notebook and pen, and wrote this post over lunch. I also automatically began speaking in Spanish…

I ordered the Cafe Cubano for my dessert. Cuban coffee is like a strong, little espresso. The bite is softened by sugar; mine was served with cane that could be stirred and melted into the hot drink.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Nick really likes the Vegetarian Press sandwich: a warm veggie sandwich with cheese and aioli on Cuban bread. You’ve never had Cuban bread? You haven’t lived.

They also offer an assortment of hot and cold tapas. During yoga teacher training, the guacamole with plantain chips fed a lot of hungry yogis.

While the vegetarian dishes are filling and flavorful enough for anyone, if you’re an omnivore, there are plenty of authentic meat dishes as well.

Buen provecho!

Leave a Reply

