Recipes

Banana Bread Muffins

We’ve been snowed in here in Louisville this week. The average temperature this time of year is 49°…but the other day it was a whopping 7°, with at least half a foot of snow. Schools were out all week, including the dental school, which was only open for a few hours on Wednesday. Because schools were out, I’ve been on nanny duty much more frequently. I’ve had a blast, though; hanging out watching cartoons, making pop corn, and visiting animals at the Humane Society. On the one day that I didn’t have to work, Nick and I actually went to a movie.

This morning I’ve got a friend coming over for coffee, and to thank her for trudging through the snow/ice/wintry mix, I wanted to bake something. I immediately thought of my go-to banana bread recipe, but decided to make them into muffins this time.

banana bread muffins 1

You guys, you won’t believe this: I’m a convert. I love this recipe as muffins! As if I didn’t already make this recipe enough, I have a feeling I’m going to be asked by friends and family for it even more now, in muffin form.

banana bread muffins 2

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups oat flour (or white whole wheat)
1 cup oats (quick or rolled)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon or nutmeg
1 cup Chobani non-fat vanilla yogurt, or any yogurt of your choice
1 1/2 cup mashed ripe banana (about 3 medium bananas)
1 flax “egg” (1 tbsp flax + 3 tbsp water)
1-2 tablespoons honey or agave
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Cacao nibs (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Mix together flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and allspice, in a large bowl. Make a well in the center of the mixture. Combine yogurt, mashed banana, flax, honey, and vanilla extract in a medium bowl; add to flour mixture and stir until combined. Scoop batter into a greased muffin tin, almost filling each cup, and sprinkle with cacao nibs. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. (If you use oat flour, your muffins should rise less than if you used white whole wheat or another flour.)

Side note: I gave up sweets for Lent and so left out the dark chocolate chips from my original recipe. If you have not sacrificed your life blood given up sweets, be my guest and indulge.

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread Muffins

Leave a Reply

