Uncategorized

What I’m Cooking Vol. 2

This is a special Super Bowl edition! While I do enjoy lazy Sundays watching football with my husband, I don’t get too worked up over the “big game,” especially if the Bears aren’t playing, and they usually aren’t. What I can get on board with is an occasion that creates an excuse to make extra delicious food. Here are some things we’ve made for Super Bowl Sunday…

1. Loaded Greek Goddess Chickpea and Quinoa Pita Chip Nachos // These are actually what we made last year. Nachos seem to be a traditional football finger food, and these satisfy that with a twist. As much as you may want to shovel these into your mouth, you’ll probably need a fork to keep it all together. Don’t worry, they are definitely worth having a plate, and there is plenty to share.

From Half Baked Harvest
From Half Baked Harvest

2. Smokey Black Bean Beet Burgers // This year, we again wanted to stick with traditional game day food, but on the lighter side. My favorite vegetarian burger of all time is Nancy’s Nutty Burger (with a side of veggie chips) from the Broad Ripple Brew Pub in Indy. While I’m still working to create my own version of this since moving to Louisville, Minimalist Baker’s burger contains walnuts to give me a taste of what I crave.

3. Vegan & Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies // One lick of the spoon and I almost didn’t bake these because they batter was so good itself. It was a rich, thick batter, which I haven’t seen in many special diet brownie recipes. I substituted mashed banana for the apple sauce because I like it, and I also have a bad habit of not wanting to buy extra ingredients. The pan was gone by the end of the day.

4. Apple “Super Bowl” Baked Oatmeal // From another blogger who’s more interested in the food than the football, here’s a really cute breakfast, or healthy dessert, idea. Make sure to click the link in this year’s post to see last year’s football shaped oatmeal!

Leave a Reply

