Uncategorized

We Are Made Better By Our Partners

I seem to engage others in the most honest conversations while exercising. Maybe it’s the endorphins, or maybe it’s because it’s a neutral territory. Regardless, today I initiated a simple conversation with a man at the gym and got more than I bargained for.

I noticed a man come into the gym with a copy of The Fault in Our Stars, and I asked how he was liking it, explaining that John Green had been my commencement speaker at Butler, and I had enjoyed the familiarity with the setting of that novel.

Our conversation wend its way to my move to Louisville to be with Nick through dental school, and landed on our marriages. He left me with one of statement that I’m holding close to my heart:

Relationships work because we are made better by our partners and vice versa.

In the more than three years I’ve spent with Nick, I know this to be true. Yet, it’s not just true of marriage, it’s true of all relationships. It is so perfect.

One of our engagement photos, taken on the canal walk in Indy
One of our engagement photos, taken on the canal walk in Indy

Wisdom comes from the least expected places.

Leave a Reply

