Recipes

Protein Brownie in a Mug

Over the past few weeks, I’d seen this brownie a lot. Supposedly the recipe originated from this instagram, but you know how ambiguous the internet can be. Still, I’ll give credit where credit may be due.

I’ve been wary of protein mug cakes in the past because they typically call for an egg or egg white. My college roommate and I tried making muffins in a mug once, with an egg each, and all they tasted like were…egg. Not exactly the sweet treat we were hoping for.

But this brownie! It doesn’t really have the texture of a true brownie, but it is so good. I’ve made at least one a day, every day this week. Yes, that’s right, one day I made two. It’s the perfect snack after a hard workout, or if you want a filling but sweet-tooth satisfying treat.

Ingredients:

1 scoop chocolate protein powder* (I use Jarrow Formulas)
2 tablespoons powdered peanut butter, or cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup almond milk

Directions:

Mix the dry ingredients in a large mug. Add in the almond milk and mix until smooth and no lumps are left. Microwave for about 45 seconds. Enjoy!

*I have used vanilla protein powder as well, and it is equally delicious!

One thought on “Protein Brownie in a Mug

Leave a Reply

