Recipes

Wellness Bowl No. 2

I’m pleased to say that I’m out of my funk. Unless we’re talking about “Uptown Funk,” in which case I am currently jamming.

I started today with a feel-good yoga practice at the studio, and ended up staying to teach three friends afterward. Then I came home to enjoy this beauty…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Another wellness bowl.

This bowl is based on a smoothie I made once a few summers ago and am still obsessing over. One fine summer morning when I was “homesick” for Honduras, I threw a mango, a banana, and some orange juice in a blender. Voila! The mango gave me that taste of Honduras, and the combination gave me enough energy to run a wonderful 10 miles along my favorite prairie path.

So, this is a wellness bowl because it brings back fond memories, but it’s also very nutritious. Let’s see… there’s vitamins A, C and B6, folate, magnesium, potassium, and smaller amounts of other vitamins and minerals. And lots of fiber.

Side note: I am not a proponent of juicing. Yes, you get lots of nutrients, but you’re missing out on all of the fiber, which can leave you still hungry. And then you might get “hangry”.

I promise if you make this smoothie you will be full of energy and will not go hungry!

Ingredients:

Mango, peeled and sliced
Orange, quartered
Banana, sliced & frozen

Directions:

Put the sliced mango in a blender or food processor. Then, squeeze the juice from the orange into the blender. Remove the peel from the orange sections, and add the sections to the blender. Blend these together until smooth like a puree. Add in the frozen banana and blend once again until smooth. Top as desired and enjoy!

One thought on “Wellness Bowl No. 2

Leave a Reply

