Uncategorized

Dear Kate

Back in December, one of the owners at 502 Power Yoga shared some exciting news with the teaching team: Christmas was coming early and each of us was going to receive a complementary clothing item from Dear Kate, a company that creates underwear and apparel with a high quality lining. Their social media hashtag is #nothingunder

Dear Kate's regram of my post from Friday
Dear Kate‘s regram of my post from Friday

I chose to receive the full length yoga pants, because that is what I prefer to practice and teach in, but they also offer a crop pant, shorts and underwear. You can find professional runner and filmmaker Alexi Pappas in some of these looks.

Once I chose my style, I consulted their size chart. I knew I was between a small and medium. The site suggested that since these pants have a “mini lining” I should order a size down. I also happen to wear a small in other brands of yoga pants, including lululemon athletica, so I ordered a small. When I got the pants, I could not even pull them up over my thighs! I consulted with my fellow teachers and found that I was not the only one who experienced this issue. They have added to their size chart that yoga pants are running half a size small.

Luckily, it was incredibly easy to exchange my pants. I went online and filled out a form, and I was promptly notified by someone in customer service that a pair of the same pants in medium would be shipped to me, again for free, along with return shipping.

Now that I have a pair that fits, what do I think? Well, I do like them. They are warm when walking down the cold streets of Louisville in winter, but I do not get overheated in a hot yoga class. One thing I wish is that the waist was just a teensy bit higher, but that is my personal preference. Also, the fabric is not as stretchy as many other brands of athletic wear I own. However, it is very nice to have the special lining so I don’t have to worry about what I’m wearing underneath! All in all, I am very happy to be teaching and practicing in these pants.

All my gratitude to the team at Dear Kate for generously gifting these pants to me and my fellow teachers, and for making the purchasing process a smooth sail. Namaste!

Leave a Reply

