Local Love

Local Love: Ramsi’s Cafe on the World

As promised, here is the first installment of Local Love, my posts about my favorite things in Louisville.

From the beginning, I’ve wanted this blog to include bits about my life, or life in general, in Louisville. However, it wasn’t until this past “Small Business Saturday” in November that I decided to create the series. I even toyed with that being the name of the series, along with “Shop Local,” but I wanted to give myself a little more freedom in what I write about to include shops, restaurants, events, landmarks, etc.

For this first installment, I chose Ramsi’s Cafe on the World. If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you’ve probably seen me mention it before; if you’re a friend or family that has visited us, you’ve definitely eaten there before. It’s our favorite restaurant in town, maybe in any town. True to its name, it serves cuisine from all over the world. There are options for carnivores, vegetarians, vegans, and those of the raw persuasion. I haven’t had a dish that hasn’t met or exceeded my expectations.

To begin

Italian Antipasto Feastival: A Mediterranean platter: Grilled shrimp, goat cheese, grilled onions, grilled squashes, and portobellos. With grilled baguette.

The all-time favorite

The Sari Wrap: Indian spiced potatoes, peas, chic peas and spinach in tortilla. Tomato curry, red onion raisin chutney and vegan raita. Vegan.

Other favorites

Hope Farm Cafe Siesta Nueva: Organic baby spinach, curried sweet potato hash, spiced pepitas, warm sherry maple vinaigrette. (Get it with goat cheese.)

Shanghai Stir-Fry: A stir-fry of broccoli, snow peas, water chestnuts, carrots and other garden vegetables. With Basmati rice and spicy chili garlic or mild black bean sauce. (I’ve only had the black bean sauce because it’s that good.)

Pollo Nuevo Havana: Blackened chicken breast, tamarindo jalapeno sauce, Gournay style cheese. With Basmati rice, stir-fried vegetables. (I can’t personally vouch for this one, but Nick and many friends love it.)

For dessert

Arabian Desert Sundae: Our answer to the Brownie Sundae: house made chocolate walnut baklava, vanilla ice cream, hot fudge, whipped cream.

To drink

Coco Chai: Housemade hot chocolate, bourbon (I think it was Maker’s Mark), chai spices, finished with whipped cream and pink peppercorn flakes. (Be forewarned that, at least when I had it, the bar tender had a generous pour.)

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

All descriptions, except for the Coco Chai, come from the menu online.

One thought on “Local Love: Ramsi’s Cafe on the World

Leave a Reply

