Recipes

Dirty Chai Milkshake

I first heard of a “dirty chai” about a year ago. It’s a chai tea latte with a shot of espresso. Talk about a wake up call. It’s perfect for those wintery mornings where you just don’t want to get out of bed, or when you stay in your pajamas until noon.

After tasting this drink at Starbucks last winter, I’ve been meaning to make it at home. I haven’t until now. And today I stepped up the game. May I present to you the dirty chai milkshake…

Enjoying my dirty chai, still in my pajamas
Enjoying my dirty chai, still in my pajamas

Ingredients:
1/4 cup – 1/2 cup espresso
1/2 cup almond milk
1 bag of chai tea
1 frozen sliced banana
1 scoop vanilla protein powder

Directions:
Warm your milk on the stovetop on low heat. When warm, but not boiling, turn off the stove and add in your chai tea bag. Allow to steep for about three minutes, depending on how strong you like it. Next, make your espresso. (I have a stovetop espresso maker.) Allow both milk and espresso to cool completely. Once cooled, place in a blender with frozen banana and protein powder. Blend until smooth.

I think this would also be perfectly wonderful with vanilla ice cream instead of the banana, but alas, I did not have any. It would also be superb with coconut whipped cream on top.

 

Leave a Reply

