Recipes

Wellness Bowl No. 1

In my life, I’ve had a lot of vaccines. I know this because I have a document with all of them listed sitting in my nightstand right now. Every vaccine I’ve ever had has been given through an injection, which I don’t mind, and once the needle is out, I never think of again.

Not so with the vaccine I’m currently undergoing. In preparation for my upcoming trip to Honduras, I went to the travel clinic at the University of Louisville medical campus to get my immunization for typhoid fever. I won’t go into the details about typhoid, but it’s a bacterial disease that you do not want to get. The injectable version of the vaccine, which I received in 2011 for my first trip, lasts for two years. This time around I figured I’d go with the oral vaccine, since it lasts five years, and I plan to continue traveling to Honduras over the next few years.

There’s just something about taking the vaccine in a pill that makes me think more about it….That, and the complex rules about when you can take it, how often you take it, what you should and shouldn’t eat or drink with it, etc. Oh, and the side effects. While I haven’t experienced any serious side effects, my intestines, where the vaccine releases, have been a little upset.

Before any of you start freaking out, I am not sick and am not contagious. Besides, if you know anything about typhoid fever, you’d know it’s not likely to spread in our privileged, sanitary Western country. To be honest, I’m not likely to be exposed to it in Honduras either, because the facilities where I live and eat are so clean.

Regardless, this morning for lunch I made myself what I like to call a “wellness bowl.” Wellness bowls are essentially a meal packed with nutrients. Before my wedding, I juiced oranges and pineapples, spooning in the Vitamin C. I filled bowls with smoothies that couldn’t possibly contain any more berries or kale. You can make a hearty soup into a wellness bowl. Today, I gave myself a healthy dose of Vitamin C, antioxidants, protein, fiber, Omega-3’s, calcium, and probiotics. I anticipate many more wellness bowls this winter, not just to prevent seasonal colds, but because they are a nice pick-me-up in the dreary months.

Wellness Bowl No. 1

Ingredients:

1 cup strawberry low-fat kefir (I use Lifeway)
1 cup frozen mixed berries
1/2 to 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder (I use Jarrow Formulas)
1 tablespoon of chia seeds

Blend the kefir, berries and protein powder in a blender or food processor until smooth. Pour into a bowl and top with chia seeds; stirring in if you desire.

3 thoughts on “Wellness Bowl No. 1

  1. I didn’t even know vaccines came in pill form! I’m generally okay when I’m given the vaccine, but afterwards I almost always feel dizzy (maybe I’m fretting about the needle after the actual injection?)
    I hope you have a great (and healthy) time in Honduras πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

