Uncategorized

The Olingers Eat Plants

I’m devoting today’s post to a sort of FAQ regarding vegetarianism.

How long have you been a vegetarian?

I’ve never been a huge meat eater, even when I was a child. When I was 16 or 17, there was one day I was eating lunch with a friend and, looking down at my chicken salad sandwich, realized I just couldn’t eat another bite. I haven’t missed meat since.

What made you decide to become a vegetarian?

The thought of eating an animal just grosses me out. It’s not exactly a highly ethical choice, though I have read some really great books that discuss the downside to using grain to feed slaughter animals, the inhumane treatment on factory farms, and the issues with over-fishing our oceans. Just this past summer, Nick and I rode our bikes past a turkey farm and I was completely disgusted with what I saw.

Do you eat fish?

No. I have tried my father-in-law’s grilled shrimp upon his request, but eating seafood grosses me out, too.

Is your husband a vegetarian, too?

Nick is really 95% vegetarian. Maybe even more than that. I would say that in a year, he maybe orders meat when we go out to eat about 3-5 times. He will also eat salmon or other seafood if his parents are cooking it. He is perfectly happy eating the same meals I do. In fact, his favorite meal at a restaurant of all time – the Sari Wrap at Ramsi’s – is vegetarian.

After running the Mill Race, and after taking my yoga test, Nick got us Sari Wraps to-go
After running the Mill Race, and after taking my yoga test, Nick got us Sari Wraps to-go

Where do you get your protein? (This one always exasperates me.)

From any source that is not meat or fish. The bulk of our protein comes fromΒ beans, lentils, quinoa, brown rice, nuts, and dairy, which we do eat. We also drink Jarrow Formulas Whey Protein.

As runners, do you worry about getting enough protein?

Not really. I feel that I am conscious of getting enough protein, and no medical professional has ever said otherwise. Nick, as a quite tall male, has to put more of an effort into his protein consumption, but also does not feel like he’s missing out.

Have you ever considered going vegan?

There have been times when I have been unintentionally vegan, when I have noticed that I haven’t eaten any animal products for several days, but then I walk past The Comfy Cow

What do you eat on Thanksgiving? (This one also always gets an eye roll.)

Everything but the turkey! I fill my plate with green beans, corn bread, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, stuffing, and apple pie.

 

This is post 24/30.

Leave a Reply

